Why I am a Focus E15 campaigner

As we’ve written before, the struggle for decent, truly affordable housing is indivisible as what happens in London with social cleansing as the capital is made into a welcome home for the global super rich while the rest of us get screwed is our struggle as well. As an act of solidarity, we’re re-blogging this post which describes the human impact of social cleansing – a policy that’s being willingly implemented in London by Labour councils as well as Tory…

Focus E15

Janice Graham has been out campaigning with Focus E15 campaign on the streets of East London every Saturday for 3 years. On International women’s day 2017 she takes time to explain why:

I am a mother of 4 children and I have 11 grandchildren. I have lived in Newham most of my life, bringing up my family single handed.  I have just plodded along getting on with my life, not being interested in anything to do with politics: I always thought it was boring and couldn’t be bothered to listen to a load of old rubbish coming from politicians thinking they know everything.  This changed when Newham Labour Council’s policies of social cleansing started to affect me and my family.

My daughter Jasmin was moved into Focus E15 Hostel in Stratford in East London, when she was 7 months pregnant. The hostel was home to 100s of young people under…

View original post 487 more words

Leave a Reply

